

Clark County Building Department

4701 W. Russell Rd, Las Vegas, NV 89118 Office: 702-455-3000 | ClarkCountyNV.gov

James Gerren, Director & Building OfficialWerner Hellmer, Deputy DirectorScott Telford, Deputy Director

October 15, 2024

NOTICE TO INDUSTRY

Subject: EV Capable Charging Stations

EV Capable spaces shall be shown on the plans and reviewed in the following manner.

- The designer will assume a minimum of 7,200 watts* or the manufacturer's nameplate rating of the equipment that will be installed in the future, whichever is greater. It is acceptable to upsize the assumed load in anticipation of future needs for charging demands and if upsized the assumed loads shall be clearly stated on the plans. If using name plate rating, specifications of the equipment with name plate rating shall be provided.
- 2) A service panel or sub-panel(s) will be provided with panel space and electrical load capacity for a dedicated 208/240 volt, 30-ampere minimum branch circuit for each EV capable charging station with a delivery of 30-ampere minimum to an installed EVSE at each EVCS.
- 3) The electrical system and any on-site distribution transformer shall have sufficient capacity to supply full rated amperage at each EV capable space.
- 4) The panel, or subpanel circuit directory shall be labeled as RESERVED OVERCURRENT PROTECTIVE DEVICE SPACE EV CAPABLE CHARGING STATION. The raceway termination location shall be permanently and visibly marked as "EV CAPABLE".
- 5) Raceways shall comply with the adopted NEC and Southern Nevada Amendments and be no less than 3/4 inch in diameter; shall originate at a service panel or subpanel(s) serving the area; and shall terminate in close proximity to the proposed location of the EV capable charging station and into a suitable listed cabinet, box, enclosure, or equivalent. A common raceway may be used to serve multiple EV capable charging stations.

*This number is in the 2023 NEC Article 220.57.

Respectfully,

James Gerren, P.E., C.B.O. Director & Building Official

> BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS TICK SEGERBLOM, Chair • WILLIAM McCURDY II, Vice Chair MARILYN KIRKPATRICK • MICHAEL NAFT • ROSS MILLER • JAMES B. GIBSON • JUSTIN C. JONES KEVIN SCHILLER, County Manager