

Steve Sisolak, Governor Bradley Crowell, Director Greg Lovato, Administrator

January 18, 2022

Matthew J. Lakin Acting Director, Air & Radiation Division AIR-1, U.S. EPA Region IX 75 Hawthorne Street San Francisco, CA 94105

## **RE:** Submittal of Clark County's Second Maintenance Plan for the 1997 Ozone NAAQS

Dear Mr. Lakin:

On behalf of Governor Sisolak, as his appointed designee, this letter informs you of our transmittal submitted electronically to USEPA's State Planning Electronic Collaboration System (SPeCS) of Clark County's Second 10-Year Ozone Maintenance Plan for the 1997 Ozone NAAQS. On January 8, 2013, the Clark County 1997 ozone nonattainment area was redesignated to attainment following the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA) approval of Clark County's redesignation request and maintenance plan. A second maintenance plan is now required and once approved by EPA, will apply until 2033, fulfilling the maintenance planning requirements of Section 175A of the Clean Air Act (CAA). The Nevada Division of Environmental Protection (NDEP) requests approval of the enclosed revisions into the Nevada State Implementation Plan (SIP).

This plan serves as the second 10-year maintenance plan for the Clark County 1997 ozone maintenance area and demonstrates how the area continues to attain the 1997 standard and will remain in attainment of the standard through 2033. This plan was adopted by the Clark County Board of County Commissioners on December 21, 2021, and satisfies the requirements of Section 175A(b) of the CAA.

If you have questions regarding this submittal, please contact Araceli Pruett, DES Senior Planner, at (702) 455-3206.

Sincerely Greg Lovato Administrator

Matthew Lakin, Air & Radiation Division January 18, 2022 P a g e | 2

ec: Meredith Kurpius, Air and Radiation Division Associate Director, USEPA Region IX Doris Lo, Rules Office Manager, USEPA Region IX Anita Lee, Planning Office Manager, USEPA Region IX Laura Yannayon, Permits Manager, USEPA Region IX Nancy Levin, USEPA Region IX Karina O'Connor, USEPA Region IX Jordan Hosmer-Henner, Office of the Governor Bradley Crowell, Director, DCNR Greg Lovato, Administrator, NDEP Jeffrey Kinder, Deputy Administrator, NDEP Danilo Dragoni, Chief, Bureau of Air Quality Planning, NDEP Marci Henson, Director, DES Richard Beckstead, Principal Air Quality Specialist, DES Araceli Pruett, Senior Planner, DES